The organic Click-Through Rate (CTR) is the percentage of how many search engine users click on a page. The CTR is mainly dependent on the rank position, but it is also influenced by the result of the title tag, description, URL, and Rich Snippet occurrence. More clicks indicate more traffic. With a high CTR, it means that you have targeted the right people, you have an interesting copy of your title and description, and your page is appealing enough for users to click.
Google simplifies it as the ratio of clicks and impressions. Let’s say your page in position 4 for a keyword with a search volume of 100 every month, then 10 people click on your result, it means your CTR will be 10/100 = 10%
This is the report of the average CTR by "Advanced Web Ranking" from June until October 2020. The score shows top 20 rank or organic results (2 pages of SERP) and will be constantly updated.
As we can see above, the first rank website on the SERP would be more likely to be clicked by the user, and most of them not too eager to click on the second page, the third, and so on.
When your page appears as a rich snippet or featured snippet, the click-through rate will increase even more. The calculations are still under research by our team. For now, the organic CTR is used in our cmlabs Analytics.
Having a CTR curve allows you to predict how much traffic you can get from a particular ranking. It helps you to turn the search volume data into estimated website visits.
If you have more preference towards another data source about CTR, we provide you the CTR Management. You can input the numbers that you prefer into our system for rank 1 to 20.
There are many articles with titles “Organic CTR 2019”, “Organic Click-Through Rate Study by Position”, etc. Using a standard CTR from one study might ignore that CTR varies drastically depending on the user intent too, not just the keywords. For example, CTR for rank 4 on “newest smartphone” will be totally different from CTR for rank 4 on “buying the newest smartphone in my city”. The solution you can do is to use your own website’s organic CTR for each of its unique segments.
On the further development of cmlabs Analytics, we will provide you to organize your CTR in more detail for each category and tag too.
You can find it on three dots on the top right of your dashboard and select the “Manage CTRs” option.
On the left bottom page of your dashboard, click the “Manage Domain” option
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Last updated 2020-06-26 UTC.